Brad Pistotnik Law
Abogado El Toro

Michigan riders rally to change state´s helmet law

Large Truck Accidents | Featured Articles

June 07 2007 - Michigan riders rally to change state´s helmet law

Despite a likely veto from Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, a few hundred motorcyclists from around the state gathered at the state Capitol on Wednesday to show support for legislation that would allow them to ride without helmets.

The annual rally was organized by American Bikers Aiming Toward Education, which wants to change the Michigan law that requires all motorcycle riders to wear helmets.

The group has tried to change the state law for several years. The latest proposal to alter the law is pending in the state House.

The legislation would allow riders to pay a $100 annual state permit fee to allow them to opt out of wearing a helmet. Bikers also could pay $200 for three years.

Motorcyclists also would have to be at least 21 years old, have two years experience and complete safety training. They would have to carry at least $20,000 in personal injury health insurance to ride without a helmet.

Riding helmetless without a permit would result in a $500 fine.

ABATE’s efforts to change the helmet law came closer than ever to success last year. The bill that would have made helmets optional passed both the House and Senate, but it was rejected by the Democratic governor, who says motorcycle helmets save lives.

Granholm spokeswoman Liz Boyd said Wednesday that nothing has changed from the administration’s perspective.

In all large truck cases it is essential that measures be taken promptly to preserve evidence, investigate the accident in question, and to enable physicians or other expert witnesses to thoroughly evaluate any injuries. If you or a loved one is a victim of a large truck accident, call the Truck Accident Lawyers Group, Inc. now at (877) 736-4222 or CLICK HERE TO SUBMIT A SIMPLE CASE FORM. The initial consultation is free of charge, and if we agree to accept your case, we will work on a contingent fee basis, which means we get paid for our services only if there is a monetary award or recovery of funds. Don't delay! You may have a valid claim and be entitled to compensation for your injuries, but a lawsuit must be filed before the statute of limitations expires.